The Republic of Azerbaijan – is situated in the East of South Caucasus, the majority part of the country is located on the border with Caspian Sea.
The Azerbaijan Democratic Republic also known as Azerbaijan People’s Republic is the first democratic Republic in the Islamic World that was established in Azerbaijan in 1918. The territory of Azerbaijan Democratic Republic was 114 square kilometers. After Soviet occupation, on December of 1920, Zangezur province of Azerbaijan was joined to Armenia.
Currently, the territory of Azerbaijan Republic is 86,600 square kilometers, and its population is 9,8 million. The capital of the country is Baku.
On April 28, 1920 Azerbaijan Democratic Republic was occupied by Soviet Russian and on October 18, 1991 the country again proclaimed its independence.
Currently, as a result of the military aggression of the Republic of Armenia Nagorno-Karabakh province and adjacent 7 districts of Azerbaijan are still under occupation of armenian troops.

The occupied territories of Azerbaijan (1988-1993)

The Nagorno-Karabakh: occupied between 1988-1993,territory – 4400 square kilometers (Shusha, Khankendi, Khojaly, Askeran, Khojavend, Agdere, Hadrut);

Lachin: occupied on May 18, 1992, territory – 1875 sq. km;

Kelbadjar: occupied on April 2, 1993, territory – 1936 sq. km;

Agdam: occupied on July 23, 1993, territory – 1154 sq. km;

Jabrail: occupied on August 23, 1993, territory – 1050 sq. km;

Fuzuli: occupied on August 23, 1993, territory – 1112 sq. km;

Gubadli: occupied on August 31, 1993, territory – 826 sq. km;

Zangilan: occupied on October 30, 1993, territory – 707 sq. km.

As a result of the aggression of Armenia, 20 percentage of the territory of Azerbaijan were occupied; over 20,000 people were killed, and more than 50 000 people were wounded and disabled. Over 20 years, more than one million people have been forced living as a refugee. These people have been the victims of the policy of ethnic cleansing, and genocide of the Republic of Armenia, they have been deprived from the basic human rights.
As a result of the aggression, over than 900 settlements have been plundered, burned and destroyed, more than 6000 industrial, and agricultural enterprises destroyed and plundered, over than 150 000 residential buildings (over than 9,000,000 square meters of living space), 4366 social and cultural facilities, and 695 medical centers and institutions have been ruined. As a result of the occupation the agricultural lands, water industry and hydro-technical equipments, transportation and communication lines were totally destroyed. The total damage of the economy of Azerbaijan is estimated more than US$ 300 billion.
In the occupied territories of Azerbaijani 927 libraries, 464 historical monuments and museums, over than100 archeological monuments, 6 theatres and concert halls have been totally destroyed and plundered. More than 40 000 precious articles and exhibits have been robbed from plundered museums. For example, after the capture of Kelbajar, the rare gold and silver articles, old handmade carpets of “Kelbajar Historical-ethnography Museum” have been taken to Armenia. The “Historical Museum” in Shusha, “Agdam Bread Museum”, and the “Museum of Stone Monuments” in Zangilan had the same fate. It is impossible to identify and state the value of the stolen and plundered historical-cultural wealth. In summary, the Republic of Armenia has roughly violated the requirements of the 1954 Hague Convention for the Protection of Cultural Property in the Event of Armed Conflict and its two (1954 and 1999) Protocols and Paris Convention. The Republic of Armenia is still keeping plundering the cultural wealth in the occupied territories of Azerbaijan.
Despite the fact that UN Security Council Resolutions 822, 853, 874, 884 demand the immediate liberation of the occupied territories and the recognition of the territorial integrity of Azerbaijan, the Republic of Armenia is still pursuing a policy of occupation.